Posted by: Jamie Stamm | February 9, 2010

Anatomy of the ear, with Anthony

Last night was probably the worst Jerry and I have had with Anthony since his first weeks of life, when we were introduced to that lovely condition known as colic. After battling a cold for the past several days, Ant woke up just after 11 p.m. yesterday with pressure in his ears – and then proceeded to scream LOUDLY for an hour straight. Maybe he was trying to get Mommy and Daddy to literally feel his pain – because my ears (and head, as well) were certainly throbbing after his tremendous display of lung power.

Although he wasn’t running a fever, we gave Ant some Tylenol for the pain, and eventually got him to calm down with a nice, warm bath. As he and I cuddled on the couch into the early hours of the morning, he tried to explain to me precisely where his pain was centered.

“It hurts here,” Ant said, sticking his finger in his ear, “but not here,” he added, touching the small flap on the outside of his ear. “Not my ear lid.”

“Your ear lid?” I asked, stifling a giggle. “Who told you that’s what it’s called?”

“Nobody,” he said matter-of-factly. “I made it up. It’s my ear lid.”

And then I did laugh. Loudly and heartily. Which is exactly what I needed. I hugged my sick baby tight and gave him a kiss. And eventually, he drifted off to sleep, waking this morning with no ear pain, in his lids or otherwise.

Just in case you’re wondering, as I was, the “ear lid”  is technically called the tragus (guess who just added a word to her Scrabble game?).

Leave a Reply

Categories

