Posted by: Jamie Stamm | October 20, 2009

A communication problem

Three weeks ago, I was thrilled to find “Dino-Soccer,” the sequel to Lisa Wheeler’s “Dino-Hockey,” on display at our local library. Last Christmas, Anthony – well, the whole family, in fact – fell in love with this picture book, which combines Ant’s two greatest loves – hockey and dinosaurs, and we were hoping Wheeler wasn’t just teasing in “Dino-Hockey’s” final sentences when she wrote: “Buy your tickets! Don’t delay. Dino-Soccer starts today.”

“It just came in this morning,” the children’s librarian told me as I expressed my enthusiasm about the book at the check-out counter.

Anthony was at preschool, but Cera and I read “Dino-Soccer” right there in the library parking lot. And we weren’t a bit disappointed. Cera suggested that we hide the book for a few days until our turn as mystery readers at Anthony’s preschool. And although it was hard to not share our excitement about the book, it was fun to surprise him, along with his classmates.

“Dino-Soccer” became an immediate favorite for Ant, and we’ve already read it at least a dozen times. But today, when I checked my e-mail, there was a notice from the library. “Dino-Soccer” is due for return.

“No!” Anthony howled as I attempted to sneak the book into our library bag without him noticing. “We can’t take back ‘Dino-Soccer’!”

“But we have to share the book with other kids,” I explained.

His bottom lip popped out. But he managed to hold it together.

“I know,” I said. “Why don’t we ask Santa to bring us a copy of ‘Dino-Soccer’?”

“We can’t ask him,” Ant replied.

“Why not?” I asked.

In a near-perfect imitation of his big sister, Ant put his hands on his hips and gave one of those Mom-you-are-so-stupid-but-I’ll-take-the time-to-try-and-explain-this-to-you sighs. “Because,” he said, in an exasperated tone, “Santa doesn’t have a cell phone.”

I shook my head and laughed, wondering whatever happened to a good old letter to Santa.

Oh wait. That might not work in Anthony’s world either. Because I’m sure Santa doesn’t have e-mail.

Responses

  1. Too cute. Javi carries his list for Santa around all year and never misses the chance to put something else on the list.

    My Jaycees chapter does letters from Santa if you want to send him one. 🙂

  2. write more!


Leave a Reply

Categories

