Posted by: Jamie Stamm | September 9, 2009

Don’t forget the OJ

Last week was extremely tight financially, so I tried my best to avoid the grocery store (I’m one of those shoppers who will drop in for a gallon of milk and come out with $40 worth of cereal, granola bars and fruit snacks “because they were on sale” – thus, my overstocked pantry).

So, when we ran out of orange juice – Anthony’s beverage of choice – at midweek, I resisted the pull of Harris Teeter and tried to satisfy Ant’s thirst with Crystal Light and chocolate milk. I let him drink juice boxes, which are usually reserved for school, the pool and long-distance car trips, and even split a Coke with him one afternoon at lunch.

It wasn’t flying.

“Have you gone to the grocery store yet?” he asked on morning two without OJ.

“No,” I replied. “I’ll go as soon as I get paid.”

Ant heaved a big sigh and shook his head.

Then, looking directly into my eyes, he said, “You’re not a very good mom.”

Ouch.

Needless to say, there’s now a large carafe of orange juice is our refrigerator. Because I wouldn’t want to have my parenting skills called into question again over something as simple as an absence of OJ.

Responses

  1. Oh, Ant certainly knows what buttons to push. He’s quite the character!

  2. They know how to cut to the quick, don’t they?

  3. …I’ll be sure to stock up before the next visit… I don’t wanna be labeled the bad aunt!!!

  4. I make juice last longer by combining it with water. If you get the ratio right or do it gradually, he might not even notice. This also saves money!

  5. A young man on a deprivation schedule doesn’t play fair at all.


Leave a Reply

Categories

