Posted by: Jamie Stamm | June 22, 2009

Decisions, decisions

A few weeks ago, while attempting to put away my son’s clean laundry, I encountered this colossal mess.

ant room 8

Nearly every piece of Thomas train track – along with the accompanying engines – had been pulled from under his bed and scattered from one end of the room to the other.

ant room 7

Dozens of books had been tossed from their shelves. (“I couldn’t decide which one I wanted to read, Mama,” Ant would later explain to me.)

ant room 6

His tricycle and basketball net were overturned, and there were sheets of stickers everywhere.

ant room 5

The only part of the room that wasn’t in complete chaos was his car corner. And that most likely was because, with the rest of the mess, he couldn’t reach it.

It looked like his room had been ransacked. And while it doesn’t seem to bother Ant to live in his own filth, I feared for my safety as I attempted to reach his closet. So I set to cleaning.

That night, when Anthony padded into our room after spending several consecutive nights in his own bed, Jerry and I joked that he must have been trapped by the mess.

Our little joke became less funny – and seemingly more of a truth – in the coming nights, as we endured the kicking and arm thrashing of a restless 3-year-old. But last night was bliss. Cera slipped into our bed around sunrise, but Ant never made an appearance, and Mommy and Daddy got a good night’s sleep.

I guess I shouldn’t have been surprised when, this morning, I realized that Ant’s room once again is a mirror image of the photos above.

So now I have a decision to make – do I want a clear path to grab diapers and put away pajamas, or would I rather share my bed only with my husband?

That’s a tough one.

Leave a Reply

Categories

