Posted by: Jamie Stamm | May 18, 2009

A lesson in big-sistering

Cera learned an important lesson about being a big sister today: Be careful what you say to your little brother … because it could come back to annoy you tenfold.

As Cera was playing Wii this afternoon, Anthony made his way from the kitchen to the living room, whimpering because I wouldn’t give him any “white” milk until he’d finished his chocolate milk (I know that probably seems illogical, but I’m working on getting him to finish all of what he has before he asks for something else).

“Would you stop whining?” Cera yelled at him.

“But Mommy won’t give me any …” Ant started.

“I know, I know, she won’t give you any white milk,” Cera interrupted. ” Blah, blah, blah, blah, blah.”

As soon as I heard that last phrase come out of her mouth, I knew it was going to be thrown back at her again and again. Not necessarily right away, but Anthony was going to store “Blah, blah, blah, blah, blah” in his little preschool head, and when he broke it out …

Well, I didn’t have to wait long to find out what would happen. Because for the next 30 minutes or so, Ant replied to EVERYTHING Cera said to him with, “Blah, blah, blah, blah, blah.”

And it drove Cera crazy.

“Stop saying ‘blah’!” she screamed.

“Blah,” Ant replied.

“An-thon-nee! I mean it!”

His response, again: “Blah, blah, blah.”

“Mom, Anthony keeps saying ‘blah.’ Can you tell him to stop?”

To which, of course, I replied, “Blah, blah, blah.”

Hey, Mama needs to have fun sometimes, too.

Eventually, I did convince Ant to speak normally again. And I explained to Cera that if she’d been more sympathetic toward her brother to begin with, and not replied to him with “Blah, blah, blah,” she wouldn’t have had to endure half an hour of verbal torture.

Now to sit back and see if my words of wisdom – given from one big sister to another – actually sank in …

Responses

  1. the next time ant annoys cera she can always break his arm!

  2. Hey, I didn’t do that on purpose! We were practicing our karate.

    That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

