Posted by: Jamie Stamm | May 12, 2009

Translating preschooler speak

At lunch this afternoon, Anthony pointed at Jerry’s bowl of pasta in creamed spinach sauce and declared, “I want clean those.”

“You want to clean those?” Jer asked. “You want to clean what?”

“I want clean those,” Ant repeated, again pointing at Jer’s bowl.

“He wants to clean the noodles?” I thought.

No, that couldn’t be it.

“I want clean those, I want clean those,” I said over and over in my head until, suddenly, it clicked.

“You want ‘clean’ noodles,” I said to Ant. “You mean noodles without sauce.”

He smiled and nodded.

And Mama rejoiced in another successful translation.

Leave a Reply

Categories

