Posted by: Jamie Stamm | May 7, 2009

I give this “incomplete” project an “A”

Anthony’s preschool held its annual “Muffins for Moms” event this morning, and as the children paraded excitedly into the multipurpose room to greet us, each presented his or her mom with a laminated copy of the “handprints” poem (if you’re a mom with a child in day care, preschool or even Sunday school, you know exactly what I’m talking about), complete with a gloppy blue handprint in the middle.

That is, most of the children did this. Because while Anthony excitedly ran to his mama, this is what he handed me:

mothers day

No fingerprints. No palm print. No laminate covering. Just a purple piece of construction paper and a poem I’ve read so many times that I practically have it memorized.

“We tried to get him to make a handprint, but he wanted nothing to do with it,” his teacher said apologetically. “We left the paints out back in the classroom, in case you think you can get him to make one.”

I looked at Ant, he shook his head “no” and that was that.

While I’m sure there are moms who would be upset about an “incomplete” Mother’s Day gift, I’m not one of them. I know Anthony doesn’t like to color, let alone paint. And in 20 years, as I look at my handprint-less poem, it will remind me that when Ant was 3, he loved to play sports and sing and dance, but he hated arts and crafts.

My gift from Ant also shows me just how different my children are. Because when Cera was Anthony’s age, she not only liked getting paint on her left hand …

little-artist-8

little-artist-10

… she also enjoyed having it on her right …

little-artist-11

little-artist-9

… and on both feet as well.

little-artist-7

little-artist-6

I love that each of my babies is unique. And, paint or no paint, I’m happy and proud to be their mom.

Responses

  1. ant sounds just like his uncle steve , swords and sports not arts and crafts!

  2. […] love a full refrigerator On each school day since his incomplete Mother’s Day gift, which upset his teacher much more than it did me, Anthony has at least attempted the same art […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

