Posted by: Jamie Stamm | May 4, 2009

The kind of questions that keep me awake at night

I can understand my kids’ dislike of bread crusts. They can be hard or chewy or coated with something that Cera and Anthony would never eat (at least not when it’s clearly visible), like oats or flax seed. In fact, I often cater to their aversions by using cookie cutters to get rid of the crusts before I serve sandwiches.

And I even can understand when Cera and Ant turn up their noses at pizza crust, which sometimes – especially when it comes from a certain pizza delivery chain whose name I won’t mention (you know who you are) – resembles cardboard.

But tortilla crusts?

Last night at dinner, Cera stopped eating her quesadillas about a half-inch to an inch from the edge, leaving the partially-eaten pieces in a neat stack on her plate.

crust

Noticing that her brother was doing the same thing, Cera looked and me and asked, “Mama, do we have to eat the crusts?”

crust-2

Which leads me to wonder, do tortillas have crusts? To me, there’s really no difference in taste, texture or appearance from the center of a tortilla to its edges.

So, why won’t my kids eat the outer rims of their quesadillas? And why does it bother me so much that I broke out the camera and took photos of their half-eaten dinners?

Then, there’s perhaps the biggest query of all: Why, oh why, am I questioning the logic of a 6-year-old and a 3-year-old in the first place?

Responses

  1. I can have the mind of a 6 year old and the answer is this: the end (I won’t say crust) doesn’t have the good filling 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

