Posted by: Jamie Stamm | April 23, 2009

Speaking his mind

Anthony has two little boys named Aidan in his class, whom he’s affectionately dubbed “the good Aidan” and “the bad Aidan” based on their behavior – or at least his perception of it.

I didn’t know which was which until this afternoon when I picked up Ant from preschool. His teacher passed by me while talking to the father of one of the Aidans, praising how well the son had behaved at school today – in a way that suggested that’s not the way he normally acts.

“Ah,” I thought to myself, “that must be the bad Aidan.”

On the way back to our van, Ant waved at the same little boy and said, “Good-bye, Aidan.”

He then turned to look up at me – and I knew instinctively what he was going to say.

“Don’t say it, don’t say it,” I pleaded internally.

But, of course, he did.

“That’s the bad, Aidan,” Ant said, pointing right at his classmate’s chest. “He’s the bad one, Mama.”

Somewhat mortified, I swept my little one off his feet, shushed him, mumbled an apology to the other parent and got to the van as quickly as possible.

I then gave Ant a short lecture about how it’s not nice to call people bad.

Even when it’s apparently true.

Leave a Reply

Categories

