Posted by: Jamie Stamm | April 23, 2009

I bruised his little ego

I messed up big time tonight.

As I was unloading groceries from the van, Anthony grabbed a three-liter bottle of water and headed for the house.

“Honey, please bring that back,” I said. “You could drop it.”

“But I’m a big boy,” he said.

“I know you’re a big boy,” I replied. “But that water’s really heavy. I don’t think you’re strong enough to carry it.”

That definitely was not the right thing to say.

Ant burst into tears and ran to the house, where he sought solace in the arms of his dad. Apparently only another man could understand the pain I’d caused by questioning his strength. Or was it his big-boyhood?

Either way, I had bruised his fragile little ego.

I apologized profusely but knew there was only one way to truly make up for my hurtful words. I handed Ant a bottle of water and watched as he wrapped both arms around it and carried it from the living room to the kitchen, where he placed it gently on the floor.

I still don’t know that he would have made it from the van, up the porch steps, through the living room and into the kitchen. But, next time, I’ll at least let him try.

Responses

  1. This makes me smile and want to cry too! Having a little boy myself, I often think of how to protect his little ego and self image too. They really are sweet when they want to be “so big” even though they’re not quite there yet. Thanks for sharing this one!


Leave a Reply

Categories

