Posted by: Jamie Stamm | February 14, 2009

Candy overload

The other day, I remarked to my sister Katie, who teaches first grade, that I was surprised Cera’s teacher hadn’t asked for contributions for a Valentine’s party.

“I didn’t ask for anything, either,” Katie said. “The kids get enough from one another. There’s so much candy.”

Quivering at the thought of being caught in a classroom with 25 kids hopped up on vast quantities of sugar, I took pity on the teachers (and the parents who would be picking up these children from school) and attached a single cherry Charms lollipop to each of Cera and Anthony’s Valentines. I mean, who doesn’t love a Charms pop?

candy

Then I sat back and waited, hoping other parents would do the same.

But no such luck.

Anthony’s Valentine’s celebration was Thursday, and he scored big. His haul included 3 packs of conversation hearts (only 2 are pictured below because he already ate 1), 1 box of crispy chocolate hearts, 2 lollipops, 1 pack of Fun Dip, 2 packs of mini M&Ms, 1 pack of SweetTarts, 2 chocolate hearts, 2 gummy hearts and 2 Disney character chocolates. That will seem even more extreme when I note that there are only 10 kids in his preschool program, including him, and that at least two of his classmates didn’t bring candy. Put more simply, this is what he got from just SEVEN boys and girls. (And for the record, I think the parent who sent an entire box of chocolates for each child is a bit of a show-off.)

candy-2

Honestly, I’m a bit astounded by the amount of candy my kids have received over the past four months – and they haven’t even eaten that much of it. Witness the candy basket in my kitchen, which is filled with the remnants of Halloween and Christmas (with a few leftover Charms pops thrown in).

candy-3

I think it would disappear more quickly if some of my adult friends came to visit. Because while they’re still enticed by the novelty of Starburst and Skittles, my kids, who are swimming in a sea of sweets, seem to be getting a bit jaded.

Responses

  1. Throw the leftover Halloween/Christmas candy out. You have my permission. If you don’t, it will still be sitting there next Halloween.

  2. …do NOT throw the leftover candy out!!! Donate it to your sister’s candy jar that she uses to bribe her kids with 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

