Posted by: Jamie Stamm | February 5, 2009

I do believe in fairies, I do, I do

As I was talking to Jerry on the phone this morning on my way home from dropping Cera off at school, I mentioned that I’d meant to ask him for some money to put gas in my van since it was almost on empty (and the last $5 in cash we had in the house got tucked under a pillow last night).

Today is my second biggest driving day of the week, as I have to take both Cera and Anthony to school (on Tuesdays I also shuttle Cera to gymnastics). It’s probably only 10 miles or so that I will travel – quite a change from my daily drive a year ago – but I don’t think there’s enough gas to cover even that short distance.

Anyway, I came home to get Ant ready for school, and when I restarted the van, my gas gauge – miraculously – showed a half-full tank. Since I knew there was no way my wonderful hubby could have re-navigated his way through rush hour traffic, snuck away with the van, put gas in it and returned it to the driveway in the 30 minutes that had passed since I spoke with him, there was only one explanation.

I had finally been visited by the gas fairy.

I happily started on my way to Ant’s preschool, checking the gas gauge at the first four-way stop. Still at the halfway mark.

This had to be a joke, right?

It was.

By the next intersection, the level had started to drop. It was even lower when I arrived at Ant’s school, and by the time I reached that same four-way stop on my way home, the low-fuel light had come on.

Ah, well, maybe I just didn’t believe enough. I’ll have to try again.

I do believe in the gas fairy, I do, I do …

Leave a Reply

Categories

