Posted by: Jamie Stamm | January 30, 2009

I am the Carpool Queen (or at least that’s what my mug says)

These past two mornings, I’ve finally had the opportunity to use one of my favorite Christmas presents: a travel mug from my sister emblazoned with the title “Carpool Queen.”

mug

It’s sturdy and practical and accented in my favorite colors (Carolina blue and green), and it even came with this cute, little poem attached:

The kids all get a sippy cup

Filled with milk or juice.

They have a little “pick me up”

To keep them chilled and loose.

Now Mommy has a Tippy Cup

And spilling holds no fear.

And what’s inside is secret

It’s Mommy’s cup, my dear!

I swear, both mornings it’s been filled with English tea (which I was surprised to learn, by reading the back of the box, comes from Connecticut. Whatever, it still tastes awesome and makes me feel quite British.)

So, you’re probably wondering what a carpool queen looks like. (I can’t believe I’m doing this.) Well, here I am in all my morning glory.

carpool-queen1

Notice the slicked-back, unwashed hair (my shower comes later in the morning), the glasses (it’s too early to fumble around with contacts) and the $500 hoodie (that’s what my husband calls this sweatshirt, which I got by raising $500 for last year’s Walk for PKD). I’m also wearing a pair of black nylon Adidas track pants. I tell you, the folks at “What Not to Wear” would have a field day with me.

And for footwear, despite the fact that it was 30 degrees this morning: black-and-blue Victoria’s Secret athletic sandals that date back to my college years. Wow, Mama needs a pedicure.

sandals

How grateful am I that Cera is not yet embarrassed by her mom’s appearance (or at least hasn’t told me so)? I figure by the time she’s in fourth grade, I’ll have to rise at the crack of dawn to wash and style my hair, cake on makeup and get dressed to the nines for the carpool line.

Maybe by then, she’ll be ready to ride the bus.

Responses

  1. Hey hot mama! You look as good as the other carpool moms. Also, Javi’s in 2nd grade and hasn’t started complaining about my lack of grooming early in the morning. Let’s hope it’s not coming soon!

  2. You crack me up! I especially love the fact that you remember when you got the sandals. I can date clothing and such items to college or high school too. Then, when I start thinking how it hasn’t been “that” long since I acquired the items, I start counting years…….scary!


Leave a Reply

Categories

