Posted by: Jamie Stamm | January 25, 2009

The not-so-patient patient

This afternoon, I made it out of the house for the first time since Cera’s surgery. And I had quite an agenda.

First, I was off to Target to buy a cool-mist humidifier, then I needed to swing by Harris Teeter for a few sale items. Next, it was Walgreens to drop off a prescription, then Lowes Foods for my big grocery trip. A quick jaunt through the McDonald’s drive-thru for sweet tea (the nurse told me tea would be great for Cera’s throat), back to Walgreens to pick-up the meds and then home again, home again, jiggity-jig. Without the kids, I figured I could finish the whole circuit in less than two and a half hours.

Thanks to a stellar start at Target (I was in and out in less than five minutes – I’m still not sure how that happened), it looked like I would complete my tasks in record time. I was feeling pretty good about myself.

And then my cell phone rang. The caller ID said “HOME.”

“Is everything OK?” I blurted immediately.

“Yes.” It was Cera. “But, Mom, you’ve been gone for five whole episodes of ‘Pokemon.'”

Let’s see, five episodes at 23 minutes apiece – that’s 115 minutes. Just short of two hours. Not bad.

“It’s been forever, Mom,” Cera said. “When are you coming home?”

“I’ll be home in 20 minutes,” I replied.

“OK, that’s …,” she paused to look at the clock and do some math in her head, “… 4:10. So, I’ll see you at 4:10. Bye.”

Damnit, when did she learn to tell time? Apparently, I was back on the clock. Praying for short lines at both McDonald’s and the pharmacy, I hopped in the van to complete my chores.

I pulled into our driveway at 4:10 on the nose (OK, so it took a bit of a lead foot on my part) and even got bonus points for bringing home a pint of raspberry sorbet. Way to go, Mom!

Overall, today was a great day for my not-so-patient patient. She ate a bowl each of tomato and wonton soup and quite a bit of raspberry sorbet, drank lots of tea and juice, and started fighting with her brother again. I’d say she’s well on the road to recovery.

Leave a Reply

Categories

