Posted by: Jamie Stamm | January 25, 2009

I think I need a bat signal

After consulting with my favorite doctor (the Internet) about ways to make Cera more comfortable during recovery from her tonsillectomy and adenoidectomy, I decided to buy a cool-mist humidifier to help reduce the amount of pain she encounters overnight.

So I turned to my favorite shopping source (again, the Internet) to find the best cool-mist humidifier for the money. After reading dozens of reviews, I chose to go with the Crane brand, which got high marks for its operation and low sound level and also offers humidifiers in cute motifs, from frogs and elephants to dragons and panda bears.

I left the final decision up to the boss (Cera), who opted for a humidifier shaped like a penguin (I was sure she would pick the dragon – shows what I know).

So I bought a Crane penguin at Target yesterday, and I have to admit, it is pretty cute.

crane-penguin

When we plugged in our penguin, I was really impressed with how quiet it was, which is very important with Cera’s still-hypersensitive hearing. But when the steam started pouring out of its mouth, an eerie feeling came over me. I couldn’t figure it out at first, but then …

Maybe it’s because Jerry and I watched “Batman Begins” earlier this week, but I can’t shake the thought that it’s not water coming out of our penguin. Instead, it’s some kind of sleeping gas intended to render my family unconscious so the evil Penguin (you know, one of Batman’s arch enemies) can wreak havoc on our household.

Maybe I should have bought the dragon …

Responses

  1. We have the dragon and it looks like it’s snorting smoke through it’s nose! It really freaks Colin out. We actually have to keep it where he can’t see it or he complains about the monster in his room.

    We’re starting to explore tonsillectomy and adenoidectomy for Jackson. I need to go back and do some reading because I’ve been a little busy over the past week and haven’t been able to keep up with the details!

  2. OMG! That made me laugh so hard. I can picture the evil penguin. HA HA HA HA HA!

    Isn’t it funny how kids things that are meant to be cute sometimes have an ominous effect?

    Remember Teddy Ruxpin? He was totally possessed.


Leave a Reply

Categories

