Posted by: Jamie Stamm | January 23, 2009

My heart is happy

Two nights ago, sitting in my living room, I could hear my daughter breathing as she slept in her bedroom. There was the occasional snore, and sometimes she would stop breathing altogether for a moment or two, then gasp before her normal pattern returned.

Tonight, she is asleep in my bed. And I can’t hear her breathing from the living room. Or the hallway. Or even the doorway to my room. I must lie down beside her to hear the flow of oxygen into and out of her body. It is steady and rhythmic.

She is sleeping soundly. Or should I say soundlessly?

And that is just as it should be.

Leave a Reply

Categories

