Posted by: Jamie Stamm | January 23, 2009

And now a word from Anthony …

ceras-birthday-9

Anthony is not sure how to handle all the attention being lavished on his sister following her surgery. But while we were at the hospital, he did everything he could to point out that it was Cera’s day with the doctor.

It started as Cera returned to where Jerry, Ant and I had been waiting as she was weighed. Anthony locked eyes with the nurse and declared, “I don’t need to see the doctor.”

She smiled and laughed.

But Anthony wasn’t joking, and he continued to repeat his assertion as Cera underwent each diagnostic test.

“You don’t have to take my temperature. I don’t need to see the doctor,” he said.

And, “I don’t have a magic finger. I don’t need to see the doctor,” as the nurse measured Cera’s breathing with a finger pulse oximeter.

The look of relief on Ant’s face as Cera went through the operating room doors and we returned to the waiting room was priceless. I guess one of my kids was scared about surgery, just not the one who was having it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

