Posted by: Jamie Stamm | January 11, 2009

The couch

love_my_couch_1

For Cera’s first birthday, my Granny bought her a child-sized Blue’s Clues couch. And, oh, how she loved that couch. She preferred it for feeding …

chillin_with_a_bottle

… and napping …

instant_nap_2

… and eventually, as a cushy landing spot as she launched herself off the end of our chaise lounge.

Shortly after Anthony was born, he also developed a soft spot for that sofa, using it for sleeping, jumping and playing his music.

rock-on-2

But a few months ago, after years of being spilled on, puked on and peed on (by both children and pets), Jerry and I decided to get rid of the couch, which we did under cover of darkness as our babies slept. And they never noticed … until tonight.

I’m not sure what triggered it, but Ant walked into the living room shortly before bedtime and asked for the couch.

“Mommy and Daddy threw the couch away a long time ago,” I said.

“What?!?” Cera called from her position at the computer.

“Mommy and Daddy threw the couch away a long time ago,” I repeated.

“Why?” the kids asked, almost in unison.

Months … it’s been months. Why now, with the piles of Christmas and birthday presents overtaking our home, are the kids concerned about a stained, smelly, worn-out couch?

Responses

  1. Me & my mom had ongoing battles over my panda bear blanket — it was all ripped up & faded, but it was my FAVORITE. She would hide it in increasingly hard-to-reach places, and I would forget about it for a while, then something would trigger it & I’d be on the hunt. That went on for about a year.

    And that picture of Anthony cracks me up 🙂

    (Yep, I lurk.)


Leave a Reply

Categories

