Posted by: Jamie Stamm | January 5, 2009

Back to basics

I did something this weekend that I haven’t done in more than six years.

I ripped my fat butt away from the computer (save for a few blog posts, some surfing on CNN.com and the obligatory Facebook time), plopped it on the couch and read a book. An entire 218-page book. From cover to cover.

Just in case you don’t realize what a huge accomplishment this was for me, let me note that since my daughter was born in January 2003, I – a lifelong voracious reader – have finished only a handful of books, mostly short story collections that I could put down for months at a time, then pick back up without feeling like I’d missed a beat. In fact, I still haven’t reached the end of Augusten Burroughs’ “Running With Scissors,” which was packed in my bag when I left for the hospital to give birth to Cera. For some reason, I thought I might have some downtime to read during what turned out to be a marathon labor and the sleepless nights that followed when I insisted on keeping my screaming daughter in my hospital room with me instead of allowing the nurses to take her to the nursery.

But this weekend, I actually scored some semi-“me” time, and I took full advantage of it. I read after the kids went to bed and while they were watching cartoons (I really didn’t feel the need to view the same episode of “Go, Diego, Go!” for the 85th time). I got in a chapter as Cera did art work and Anthony played with his Thomas trains. And I snuck back to my bedroom tonight as they watched nature shows with their dad, although Cera found me after about 20 pages and demanded that I switch my reading material to “The Poky Little Puppy.”

I must say that I really enjoyed my book. It was a good read – funny and insightful with just the right touch of emotion – and it went down easy, not unlike the glass of pinot grigio I was sipping as I turned the final page.

I have a feeling next weekend might end the same way. After all, there’s a stack of unread books in my bedroom that for years have been begging to be read. And I can finally hear them calling my name.

Leave a Reply

Categories

