Posted by: Jamie Stamm | October 31, 2008

Brusha, brusha, brusha

Just in time for the sugary treats that Halloween will bring, Anthony has started brushing his teeth again.

Thanks to a recommendation from fellow mom Kelly Quinones Miller (you can read about her two adorable children, Javi and Bella, at her blog, “The Miller Mix,” at http://themillermix.blogspot.com/), who wrote that her son got over the hump by using a toothbrush that played music. I took her advice and allowed Anthony to “choose” a new toothbrush on a trip to Wal-Mart, steering him toward only those that were musical.

The good news is that the new toothbrush has worked wonders. As soon as we got home, Anthony rushed to the bathroom, pushed the button to activate the music and brushed with the same toothpaste that he had declared “yucky” the day before. And he’s continued to brush without a fight since then.

But there is some bad news, as well, at least for Jerry and I.

Because Anthony picked a Thomas the Tank Engine toothbrush, and it plays the show’s God-awful theme song.

Which is now stuck in my head even more than usual (we watch Thomas at least once a day).

So now I have to decide which is worse: holding Anthony down to brush his teeth or hearing this over and over:

I’m starting to think that maybe I can’t win here.

Responses

  1. I’m so glad it worked! When the fabulousness wears off, try one of the light up ones. They blink for one minute and then he can make it blink again for another minute – a two-minute timer!

    Um. That Thomas song? HORRIBLE. I am thanking Bella right now for not knowing what Thomas is. I think I’ll keep it that way. 🙂

  2. We have one like that for Colin and it plays VeggieTales. I hear that damn song in my dreams.

    But he does brush!

  3. Reading your title put that “Brusha, Brusha, Brusha” song from “Grease” in my head all day long — thanks for the torture! 😉

  4. It’s a scientific fact that adding singing British schoolchildren makes any song 35% creepier.


Leave a Reply

Categories

