Posted by: Jamie Stamm | October 28, 2008

Anthony will taketh, but he might not giveth away

Our doorbell has been broken for months, and with Halloween just a few days away, I’ve made it my goal to buy a new one today.

So, as I was driving Anthony to preschool and outlining our plans for the afternoon, I mentioned that we would be shopping for a doorbell.

“Why?” he asked.

“Because Friday is Halloween, and we want to be able to hear the trick-or-treaters when they come to our door,” I explained.

“Why?” he asked again. (He’s 2, after all; it is his favorite question.)

“So we can give them candy,” I said.

Like most families, I’m sure, we’ve been dipping into our stash of Halloween candy for the past several days. And that’s made Anthony, who is a chocolate fiend, one very happy little boy.

So I wish I had had a camera trained on him to capture his face when I mentioned giving away our candy.

It screamed, “Over my dead body, lady. That candy is all mine.”

Friday night could get interesting …

Leave a Reply

Categories

