Posted by: Jamie Stamm | October 18, 2008

Just in time for Halloween …

My daughter has developed a scream that sounds like something you’d hear in a horror movie.

It’s loud, it’s shrieky and it’s starting to occur on a pretty consistent basis.

It’s the kind of reaction that I would reserve for an occasion like finding a mouse in my bed. But she uses it for everyday fun, like when she runs from me as I’m vacuuming the living room or when her brother finds her during a game of hide-and-seek.

Just to give you an idea of how ear-piercing this scream is, the other day I took the kids to McDonald’s for lunch, and as they removed their shoes and headed into the play area, I decided to check in with Jerry at work.

“Where are you?” he asked, apparently overwhelmed by the noise that is a typical afternoon in Fast Food Land. “And what was that?”

“That,” I said, “was your daughter,” who was screaming as she slid down a slide that she’d been down at least a dozen times before.

And the shrieking continued for the next 20 minutes, until I actually had to ask her to quiet down – in a McDonald’s Playland.

I’m not used to my kid being the noisy one. But, all of a sudden, she is. And it’s kind of frying my nerves.

The big problem is, I don’t think she realizes how loud – and annoying – her screaming has become, which is going to make it hard to fix.

So, for now, I think I might need to invest in a good pair of ear plugs.

Responses

  1. Record it and play it back. Case hates the movie I made of him pitching a fit.


Leave a Reply

Categories

