Posted by: Jamie Stamm | September 15, 2008

Cooling down

Cera’s soccer team took the field at 11 a.m. Saturday, and it was hot. Our large group of spectators – including Jerry, Anthony and I; Jerry’s dad and sister and his sister’s boyfriend; and Jerry’s aunt and uncle – was relieved to find a spot in the shade, but by halftime, the sun was bearing down on us and truly taking a toll on my toddler.

By the start of the third quarter, Anthony’s cheeks were flushed bright red, and he was growing increasingly cranky, throwing himself across my lap and crying, “I want to go home!”

I needed to find a way to cool him down before his temperature – and his temper – reached meltdown status.

So I grabbed his water bottle – the pink one, of course – and drizzled some water over his head. He was a bit surprised at first, but then he snatched the bottle out of my hand and started dousing himself. In a matter of moments, he was soaked but smiling, and I snapped my favorite picture of the weekend.

Leave a Reply

Categories

