Posted by: Jamie Stamm | September 13, 2008

Snake squash

I love summertime visits from my father-in-law, not only because it’s always great to see him, but because he brings along the bounty from his garden to share with our little family. He arrived tonight with a basket full of various tomatoes and peppers, garlic and asparagus and dozens of apples, all fresh from his small farm in Candler.

While I’m anxiously awaiting the opportunity to pop one of the brilliant red or yellow tomatoes in my mouth, and I can’t wait to turn the apples into a batch of homemade applesauce, I am most intrigued by the huge zucchetta trombolina zucchini that he brought us. (“They’re not hard to find in the garden,” my father-in-law joked.) Anthony has been calling it a “snake squash,” and Cera, well, she couldn’t wait to get her hands on this giant vegetable.

For the most part, Jerry and I aren’t huge fans of zucchini or squash (we both have texture aversions), but Jerry’s dad is tinkering with the idea of making a pot of zucchini soup tomorrow. If he does, I absolutely will have to try it.

Responses

  1. WHOA!


Leave a Reply

Categories

