Posted by: Jamie Stamm | September 9, 2008

The right decision

Jerry and I debated whether to send Anthony to preschool this year or to keep him home. After all, he’s only 2 1/2 years old, money is tight and we have enough books, flash cards and other educational materials that it would be easy to work on his letters and numbers in the comfort of our living room. But in the end, we decided the social interaction would be good for him (and the six hours of “mommy time” each week would be good for me), so we enrolled him in a program on Tuesday and Thursday mornings through our local YMCA.

I was a bit nervous on his first day because, although he was in day care from the time he was six weeks old until this past July, he’s been home with me every day for the past month and a half. And let’s just say he’s become a little clingy – when I had to go to a parents-only open house at Cera’s school the other night, he held onto my legs and howled – and I was leaving him at home with his dad and sister.

So I was pleasantly surprised when my little mama’s boy went right up to his new teacher, held her hand and walked willingly – even excitedly – to his classroom.

And when I picked him up at school three hours later, he gushed about his day.

“I sing, and I play drum,” he said. “And school has trains!”

He continued to chat animatedly the rest of the ride home, ate lunch and then settled in – with little fight – for a fitful afternoon nap.

I couldn’t have been more pleased.

And so far, the pattern has continued. He was just as enthusiastic about his second day of preschool (“My friends love me!” he exclaimed as I loaded him into the minivan) and today, Day 3, he was talking nonstop about Elmo and trains and his classmates before we even left the house.

Doesn’t it feel good when you realize that, at least for once, you made the right decision for your child?

Responses

  1. And what a bonus that the right decision is a decision he AGREES with! Hailey rarely agrees with what we think is right for her!

  2. Daniel wanted to see how Cera & Anthony were doing, so we sat down tonight to check out your blog. Daniel had to go back and look at all the pictures of his freinds & wanted to hear about their new schools! Glad to see things are going so well!
    By the way, have y’all read Skippy John Jones? If not, you will have fun with it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

