Posted by: Jamie Stamm | August 27, 2008

Piecing it all together

As I’ve watched my kids grow up, I’ve occasionally longed for the more carefree days of youth.

Like this morning, when Anthony broke apart a 54-piece dinosaur floor puzzle and then spent the next 45 minutes (honestly, I don’t think I’ve ever seen him concentrate on one activity for so long) reassembling it into this:

He was so proud of his mismatched puzzle (which he called a “train”).

Some days, I wish I could go back to a point in my life when I didn’t care if my puzzle made the perfect picture, as long as I could get at least some of the pieces to fit. I know I was at that place at one time, and maybe I’m returning there again.

Because when I think about the not-yet-finished puzzle that is my life, I know that I really wouldn’t change a thing. Like Anthony’s, my puzzle has its imperfections, but right now, I’m quite fond of the picture that’s taking shape.

Responses

  1. This is just what I needed after the disgustingly dreary post I came up with on this dark and rainy morning. Thanks for letting me borrow your perspective. It has made me realize that I like my puzzle too. Sort of. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. I do love your blog, Jamie ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

