Posted by: Jamie Stamm | August 26, 2008

Little mama

At some point over the past few months, Cera decided that she’s just as qualified as her mom and dad to dictate what Anthony should and should not do.

If he’s in her room and she doesn’t want him there (which is only some of the time, a situation that’s probably quite confusing to a 2-year-old), instead of getting Mommy or Daddy to help, she will pick up Anthony and forcibly remove him. And he in turn will hit her or kick her or throw something at her, at which point she will come get Mom or Dad, oftentimes in tears.

“I told him he’s not supposed to be in my room, but he wouldn’t leave, so I threw him out,” she’ll say, to which I reply, “Why didn’t you just come get me in the first place?”

Or when he grabs a pack of fruit snacks from the microwave cart before dinner, or splashes water out of the bath tub, or pulls all the puzzles off the living room shelves, she feels the need to discipline him.

“An-thon-neee!” she’ll cry. “You’re not supposed to do that. Stop that right now!”

And she’s right. These are all things her little brother shouldn’t do.

But they’re also situations that she needs to let Mommy or Daddy deal with because a rebuke coming from your sister isn’t the same as one that comes from your parents – not that either of them really work.

“Let me take care of it,” I tell her. “I’m the mom.”

Cera also likes to make decisions for Anthony. Like this afternoon, when she told me that she wanted a purple freeze pop, and he wanted a blue one that was cut in half so that it would be easier to eat. Turns out, Anthony didn’t want a freeze pop at all.

“Did you ask him?” I asked Cera.

“No,” she said. “But I know what he wants.”

All this from a child who, several weeks ago, told me she’s never having children.

“They’re a lot of work,” she said.

Tell me about it.

Responses

  1. Sometimes I think we’re living parallel lives. My Cera is named Jackson, and my Anthony is named Colin. But it otherwise sounds just like something that would happen in my house!


Leave a Reply

Categories

