Posted by: Jamie Stamm | August 20, 2008

Grumpy, Sleepy … and Lazy?

Yesterday, as Cera sat in front of me with a pout on her face because she was starving and I wasn’t getting dinner on the table fast enough, I told her she reminded me of one of the Seven Dwarves: Grumpy.

“And Anthony is Sleepy,” I said, tousling the hair of my non-nap-taking toddler.

“And you’re Lazy,” Cera retorted.

“What?” I said, a bit taken aback. “You think I’m lazy?”

“Yes,” she replied. “You’re always tired.”

Yeah, I thought to myself, because I can’t sleep at night when there are four people in my bed. And when I’m worrying about money. And when I myself am constantly entertaining the thought that just passed Cera’s lips.

In the near-month that I’ve been staying at home, have I become lazy?

So before I went to bad last night, I made a mental inventory of all I had done in the previous 17 hours: I woke up around 7 a.m. Tuesday; dressed and fed breakfast to myself and two kids; took Cera to school; did two loads of dishes and three loads of laundry; played baseball, lacrosse and “Guess Who?” with Anthony, as well as assembling (and disassembling – that’s the truly fun part) a number of puzzles; spent 20 minutes on hold with the cable company in an attempt to get our service fixed; made lunch for Anthony and myself; tried in vain for more than an hour to get Anthony down for a nap; picked Cera up at school; served up a quick afternoon snack for the kids, then sat down to do the bills and fill out school paperwork; drove Cera in to town for gymnastics, during which I spent 55 minutes trying to restrain Anthony from running out on the mat; came back home and headed outside for some play time; made two side dishes to accompany Jerry and my dinner; gave the kids a shower; laid out everyone’s clothing for this morning; read books to the kids and finally put them to bed.

And this was a day when I didn’t have to run to the grocery store or the post office or Target (OK, so the trips to Target aren’t always necessary).

So, am I lazy?

I don’t think so.

Responses

  1. No wonder you’re always tired!!! You wore me out just READING about what you did in one 17 hour period!!!!

  2. Geez. Day care workers get paid good money to do all that. I’d say give yourself a pat on the back.

  3. Lazy, Shmazy. How excited are you to remind Cera of this conversation when she is grown and has two little ones to chase around! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

