Posted by: Jamie Stamm | August 16, 2008

My daughter, the extortionist

After a string of restless nights, thanks to two munchkins taking over our bed, Jerry and I are willing to try just about anything to get the kids to stay in their own bedrooms, at least until the break of day. Thus, there’s been a lot of conversation this week about moving Anthony from his toddler bed to a big-boy bed with – and here’s the true incentive – sheets, a bedspread and any other accouterments we can find from the movie “Cars.”

So on Wednesday afternoon, as we waited FOREVER for a prescription to be filled at Walmart, I suggested that Cera, Anthony and I go check out the linens department. While I internally debated whether to purchase the “Cars” comforter (which I had read bad reviews of on at least two Web sites) or the “Cars” fleece (which looked warm and cuddly but cost nearly double what I hoped to spend), I saw Cera eying a set of “Bratz” sheets.

Noticing me looking at her, she said, “You know, Mama, I’d be more likely to sleep in my bed all night if I had new sheets, too.”

I know this is mainly about Cera wanting something new because Anthony is getting something new, but still … the little extortionist! Telling me she’ll stay in her room if she has new bed linens, as if “Bratz” sheets (which she knows her father would never let her get) would be more sleep-inducing than the “Sesame Street” sheets that are on there right now.

But like I said, at this point, Jer and I are willing to do anything for a good night’s sleep.

So now I’m not the only one who has to make a decision. As I continue to debate comforter versus fleece, Cera has to choose between “Tinkerbell” or “The Little Mermaid.”

This had better work.

Responses

  1. […] 21-12-2008 Pastor’s sex with daughter inspired by Bible Saved by virreerriv on Sat 20-12-2008 My daughter, the extortionist Saved by relaxdesign on Tue 16-12-2008 Divorced Dads: How Would Your Son or Daughter Answer This […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

