Posted by: Jamie Stamm | August 16, 2008

Language lessons

Two weeks in to kindergarten, my daughter already has picked up some choice phrases.

“Oh my God!” she exclaimed the other night as, while watching the Olympics, we saw a gymnast complete a particularly awesome vault.

Not that the vault didn’t warrant such an expression, but I was a bit taken aback by my 5-year-old’s use of it.

“Mommy doesn’t like ‘Oh my God,'” I said. “How about ‘Oh my gosh’ or ‘Oh my goodness’?”

Her reply, in a totally valley girl tone:

“Whatever!”

Whatever?!? Whatever?!?

She’s also become quite adept at using the words “bored” and “boring.” Thursday afternoon, after I had spent 45 minutes standing around while Cera reunited with friends from her old day care, it took only 60 seconds or so into a visit with my former co-workers for her to utter, “I’m bored. Can we go home now?” – followed for the next 15 minutes by numerous variations of the same phrase.

What is happening to my polite – not to mention innocent – little girl?

My son also has a new favorite word: “because,” usually followed by “I want to” or “I don’t want to.”

For example, take these two recent conversations:

Me: Why are you licking my arm? (This also occurred while visiting my former workplace.)

Anthony: Because I want to (followed by a series of giggles and more attempts to lick my arm).

And:

Me: Anthony, stop lying on top of the cat.

Anthony (continuing to lie on the cat): No.

Me: Anthony, get off the cat. Why won’t you listen to me?

Anthony: Because I don’t want to.

Wow. I feel my sanity slowing slipping away …

Responses

  1. I swear, I go through the exact same discussions every single day. Maddening!


Leave a Reply

Categories

