Posted by: Jamie Stamm | August 3, 2008

Week 1: In summary

My first week as a SAHM was a true learning experience – and I’m sure the coming weeks will be as well. Here are five observations I’ve made so far:

1. I can get a lot done before noon. On Thursday morning, I got up at 7 and showered, then fed and dressed Cera, dressed Anthony, took Cera to her first day of kindergarten, returned home and set up Anthony with his breakfast and an episode of “Go, Diego, Go!” As he ate and watched TV, I sent out a resume and an inquiry about another freelance job, cleaned the kitchen and did a load of laundry. At 11 a.m., Ant and I headed to the grocery store, where we bought all the groceries for the week (no more daily trips to Lowes or Harris Teeter for us), then came back home and put away our purchases. And all before noon. This allowed for two luxuries later in the day: lunch with a friend from college and a few minutes of reading before bed.

2. This potty-training thing needs to happen soon. I changed more diapers this past week than I’ve changed in years. And since my 2-year-old doesn’t particularly like having his diaper changed, about half of those incidences were struggles. We even had one morning when he partially removed his diaper and then pooped. That was fun.

3. I can cook more than Jello. A few weeks ago, my daughter told my mom that Daddy cooks all of our meals, and Mommy makes Jello. Truth be told, I’m a pretty decent cook. I just didn’t have time to prepare meals for the past five years, as I was commuting an hour and a half each day and holding down two full-time jobs (journalist and mom). But now I can have dinner on the table when Jerry gets home from work (I made a pretty good Greek turkey casserole this week). That is, as long as I start prepping while Anthony is napping and Cera is at school. Otherwise, I’ll have two kids underfoot.

4. It is possible to keep my kitchen clean for more than 24 hours. I’ve actually had time to load all the dishes from breakfast, lunch and dinner into the dishwasher immediately after meals. Which means the counters aren’t cluttered. Which means I’m more likely to clean them as well. I hope I can keep this up because it feels great (not to mention more sanitary) having a clean kitchen.

5. Simple counting can do wonders. By counting to 10, I can warn my son that he’s about to be in trouble (unless he quickly changes his behavior), calm myself down after a bad-toddler episode or execute an easy math lesson for Anthony at the grocery store.

I can’t wait to see what’s in store for us as Cera embarks on her first full week of kindergarten …

Leave a Reply

Categories

