Posted by: Jamie Stamm | July 24, 2008

A small miracle

Something shocking happened this week.

The other night, as Jerry was making dinner and I was flitting back and forth between the washing machine and the dishwasher, Cera declared that she was bored and was going to clean her room.

Honestly, I didn’t believe her. This child has never voluntarily cleaned her room, and when I ask her to help me clean it, I usually get so frustrated with her that I kick her out and do it myself. So I figured she’d pick up a book or two and then get absorbed in an art project or strike up a conversation with one of her stuffed dragons.

But 15 minutes later, Cera summoned Jerry and I to her room – and it was clean. She had actually picked up everything off her floor and put it away. No cramming Barbies in the closet or shoving books under her desk.

I hate to admit that my 5-year-old daughter’s bedroom is now much more ordered than mine.

And then I heard her having this conversation with my mom on the phone today:

Cera: I cleaned my room the other day. But Mommy hasn’t vacuumed it yet. (I added the italics to show her expression of disdain. And I can’t believe she was telling on me to my mom.)

(A pause as my mom responded)

Cera: Yeah, I’m going to keep it clean for the rest of my life.

Who is this child, and what happened to my daughter?

Responses

  1. Hahahahaha. She sounds like such a character.

    Day 1 at the Herald without Jamie
    morale/atmosphere: the bad side of okay, too quiet, generally subdued.


Leave a Reply

Categories

