Posted by: Jamie Stamm | July 8, 2008

Impressive feat (or is it feet?)

Do you ever have those moments as a parent when you know you’re supposed to be strict, but all you really want to do is laugh?

Over the weekend, as my parents, grandmother, aunt, cousin and the four of us gathered around my parents’ dining room table for a Fourth of July feast, I heard my dad say, “Anthony …,” in the same disciplinarian voice that I recall from my childhood.

I looked up to see my son, who was sitting atop a stool that put him right at table level, with his Cookie Monster fork firmly planted between his toes and his foot positioned above his plate.

I turned my head to the side and let out a little snicker before reprimanding him.

“Anthony, please put your foot down. We eat with our hands, not our feet.”

But I had to wonder … could he have successfully speared a piece of hot dog and brought the fork all the way to his mouth to eat it?

Now that would have been an impressive feat (pardon the pun).

Responses

  1. I would give anything for a visual. This story kind of makes me want a boy. Then again, maybe not.

  2. I think I would have HAD to wait for the reprimand until after I saw how successful he was and what he ended up doing with that foot!!!! The wondering if he coulda done it would eat at me for days!!! (doesn’t that make the world sigh with relief that my child raising days are long past??)

  3. Anthony can do anything. He is the greatest kid ever, besides Cera.


Leave a Reply

Categories

