Posted by: Jamie Stamm | July 1, 2008

Who needs an alarm clock?

I am the queen of the snooze button. On any given morning, I’ll reach out my arm and smack my buzzing alarm clock three or four times before I finally roll out of bed.

And no one else in the room – my husband and, on many occasions, the cat and the kids – reacts to the fact that the alarm is blaring in nine-minute increments either. They just curl up deeper under the covers and keep sleeping.

This morning, by some miracle, I was the first one awake, so I headed to the kitchen to start breakfast. I preheated the oven for waffles and put a pan of bacon on the stove.

It took just a few minutes for the heavenly scent of fried pork to begin wafting through the house. And before I realized it, my husband was in the kitchen, too, brewing a pot of coffee, as the cat weaved his way between my feet. Then Anthony came walking down the hallway, seeking out his morning meal.

The only one I had to wake up was Cera, who is a complete bear in the mornings. But today, when I mentioned the word “bacon,” she opened her eyes and got out of bed without protest.

So, I guess I’ll have to continue to use the alarm clock to wake myself up in the mornings.

But for the rest of the family, I’ll be making bacon.

Responses

  1. …drool…

  2. I snooze for about 30 minutes to an hour daily. It’s wonderful.


Leave a Reply

Categories

