Posted by: Jamie Stamm | June 20, 2008

Wow, those are some big babies

As an editor-of-all-trades (entertainment, travel, health, society … I’m the contact for more topics than you could possibly imagine), I get unusual press releases all the time, most of which go directly into my trash bin. But this one, which I received late today, absolutely blew my mind, and I felt the need to share it.

WINSTON-SALEM – Twins Sean William Maynard, 10 pounds, 14 ounces, and Abigail Rose Maynard, 12 pounds, 3 ounces, delivered at Forsyth Medical Center’s Sara Lee Center for Women’s Health on Tuesday, may claim the distinction as the heaviest set of twins ever born in North Carolina and possibly the second heaviest set born in the United States during the last century.  The twins, born to Joey and Erin Maynard of Winston-Salem, were delivered via Cesarean section two minutes apart and are in excellent condition.  Mother and dad are also doing fine.

Based on an Internet search, the heaviest combined twin weights were born to an Arkansas woman, on Feb. 20, 1924, totaling 27 pounds, 12 ounces.  A set born in 1997 to a Wilson, N.C., couple weighed a combined total of 18 pounds, 10 ounces. The Maynards also have a two-and-a-half-year-old at home who was 10 pounds, 7 ounces at birth.

My children were fairly large, both weighing in at more than 8 pounds, and I was my mom’s smallest baby at 9 pounds, 4 ounces (my little sister weighed 10  pounds, 10 ounces), so big babies aren’t typically that surprising to me.

This, however, is unreal. I don’t know Erin Maynard, but she’s my new hero.

Responses

  1. Holy cow! Those are some big babies. I was proud of my 8lb 5oz baby. The second one was significantly smaller, but I figured 8lb+ was a good healthy size. I cannot imagine carrying 23 pounds of baby around.

  2. I love my new niece and nephew. They are awsome and can’t wait to see them. I am proud of my brother and sister n law. I love guys. See you soon.

    Aunti Angel

  3. Jamie,
    I can tell you that she is my hero as well……. -Joey Maynard (Erin’s husband)


Leave a Reply

Categories

