Posted by: Jamie Stamm | June 10, 2008

The mockingbird that thinks its a nightengale

In our neighborhood, we have one confused little mockingbird.

Instead of singing with his brothers and sisters in the early morning, our mockingbird starts belting out his tunes around midnight.

Now, I’m not usually bothered by this because by the time I collapse in my bed at night, I am so ready to sleep that nothing – including a persistent chirper – is going to keep me from catching some ZZZs.

But last night, try as I might, I couldn’t sleep. And I learned that our little mockingbird keeps up his singing for hours.

Short of having to kill a mockingbird, does anyone have any suggestions as to how we can help our resident mimic get his days and nights in order?

Leave a Reply

Categories

