Posted by: Jamie Stamm | June 10, 2008

A small miracle

Something happened at our house this morning that rarely occurs.

When my husband and I woke up, we were still side by side. Which means that both our children slept in their own beds all night long.

We were stunned.

Because although it’s only Jer and I when we climb into bed at night, by the next morning, our arrangement typically is (from left to right) Jerry, Cera, Anthony, me and Sampras, our cat. And even though we have a king-size bed, that makes for some tight quarters (especially since Cera and Anthony both sleep spread eagle, taking up as much room as possible for two relatively tiny kids).

I’m a pretty realistic person, so I suspect that when I wake up tomorrow morning, one or both of my children will be cuddled up beside me instead of my husband. But, at least for today, it was nice to get a good morning kiss that didn’t have to come over top of two snoozing kids.

And my blissful morning wasn’t quite over. Because as Jer got up to get ready for work, I hit the snooze button, stretched out and enjoyed having that great big bed all to myself.

Responses

  1. I long for the day when it’s just me and the husband when I wake up in the morning. Luckily our 5 year old has always been an independent sleeper, but the not-quite-2 year old always ends up with us at some point. At least he’s no longer sleeping with us ALL night!

  2. OK- yet more motivation to keep working on getting my baby into her crib each night.


Leave a Reply

Categories

