Posted by: Jamie Stamm | June 8, 2008

I’m melting!

When I was in high school, I had a number of friends on the wrestling team who would wear garbage bags under their clothes to make themselves sweat and thus lose weight.

Yesterday, it was so hot here in central North Carolina that I think for the first time in my life, I experienced what that must have felt like.

Given the choice, I would have spent the day inside, cool and comfortable in my air-conditioned home. But it was Family Day at my husband’s workplace, so we slathered on some sunscreen and spent nearly four hours following our kids from amusement to amusement as temperature rose into the upper 90s.

The kids didn’t seem near as bothered by the heat as us parents. In fact, we noted that as the day wound down, the moms and dads in our group had planted themselves in the shade of a tree, empty water bottles scattered about, as our kids ran back and forth between a Disney Princess bounce house and a tiger bounce house. It was as if our level of supervision went down as the temperature went up. Thankfully, it was a rather uneventful afternoon, save for one Anthony’s-head-to- Cera’s-head bump that caused a few minutes of tears and me sitting down on a bee (I hadn’t been stung in so long that I wasn’t really sure what had happened until I saw a stinger in the back of my thigh).

The real “heroes” of the afternoon were the ride operators, who braved the scorching sun so that our kids could have a fun afternoon, and the various sports mascots who donned their costumes for what must have been an agonizing day at work. (Check out Anthony, Cera and Cera’s friend Callie below with Sir Purr from the Carolina Panthers.)

When we finally made our way back to the van, cheeks flushed and clothing drenched with sweat, the temperature gauge on the dashboard registered 106 degrees (and even after the drive to a friend’s house with the air conditioning going full blast, it never fell below 103).

We’ve yet to leave the house today (the temperature is currently 95 degrees), but we’ll be heading out soon to bake ourselves at a baseball game.

I hope we get some relief from this heat wave soon …

Leave a Reply

Categories

