Posted by: Jamie Stamm | May 22, 2008

“Do you want to wiggle my loose tooth?”

Not only did Cera get some sleep last night, she was the first one awake this morning, most likely because she was still extremely excited about her loose tooth.

And when her baby brother woke up, she wanted to share that excitement with him.

“Anthony, do you want to wiggle my loose tooth?” she asked.

I made it across the room just in time to prevent Anthony’s little fingers from getting a good grip on Cera’s pearly white.

And then it hit me that she very well might pose the same question to everyone she encountered today. In my mind, I envisioned her 15 classmates taking turns probing her mouth with the grubby digits of 4- and 5-year-olds, covered in germs and dirt and Lord knows what else.

So I decided Cera and I needed to have a quick talk. About loose teeth. And personal space. And hygiene.

It must have stuck because this afternoon when I picked her up from school, Cera assured me that even though her best friend had asked to wiggle her tooth, she hadn’t let anyone do it.

In fact, before she let me touch her tooth tonight (it’s quite a bit looser now), she made me wash my hands.

Smart kid.

Leave a Reply

Categories

