Posted by: Jamie Stamm | May 16, 2008

Come one, come all

It has been a busy week in our household. This year, I volunteered to be the Relay for Life team captain for The Sanford Herald (I’ve been captain of my family’s Walk for PKD team each fall for the past three years, so I figured this couldn’t be much harder – but it was). So much of this week has been spent on last-minute details for our fundraisers at the event, shopping for our team’s dinner and stressing (because I’m starting to think that my life isn’t truly complete without stress).

As I type, my hubby is in the kitchen, making about two dozen hamburgers for my co-workers and their family members, and I already can smell the sour cream pound cake that he’s cooking for our bake sale. I’m so grateful that he’s helping out tonight – I’m trying to take it easy right now, as I know I have a lot of work to do in the morning packing the van and in the afternoon when it’s time to set up our booth, where we will be holding a bake sale, raffling off three prize packs of items donated by downtown Sanford merchants (we’ve got lots of great stuff) and having a coloring contest (hopefully – we’ve run into some glitches with that last one).

And that’s just a taste of what you can find at Relay for Life, which begins at 6 p.m. today (Friday) at the Lee County Fairgrounds. It’s a great event for families – there are tons of things for kids to do (bring your wallet), live entertainment and lots of tasty treats (a warning: the homemade ice cream usually goes pretty quickly). And, best of all, it’s for a great cause – proceeds from the event benefit the American Cancer Society, an organization that’s near and dear to my heart.

You see, my husband is a cancer survivor. A little over two years ago, he had a melanoma removed, and his doctor had to take a sizable chunk out of his inner thigh (it looks a bit like a shark bite). My father-in-law has battled prostate cancer, Jerry’s grandmother had cancer of the tongue and two of my friends died of cancer in their 20s. And I myself have had two spots of skin cancer removed.

Through my involvement in Relay this year, I have been fortunate to meet some incredible people, many of whom have fought, or are currently fighting, cancer and others who are taking part in honor or memory of their loved ones. Tonight is a chance for all of us to come together to remember those we have lost to cancer, celebrate those who have survived and prove – through our presence and by doling out our dollars – that we aren’t going to stop battling this devastating disease, which affects men, women and children regardless of their race or age.

So please join me – and hundreds of other Lee County residents – tonight at the Lee County Fairgrounds as we Relay for Life.

Responses

  1. Burgers were off the chain, but my breath will likely stink until next week. Look out Chelsea.

    Why did no one alert me on the pound cake, though?

    I think I want to marry Jerry now, not you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

