Posted by: Jamie Stamm | April 5, 2008

An unusual pet peeve

I have lots of pet peeves.

Like when my husband goes into the kitchen to get a drink and leaves the light on (there’s a light in the refrigerator – why even turn on the kitchen light?).

Then there are drivers who don’t use their turn signals, and people who use “entitled” instead of “titled” (just one of my many grammar issues).

But perhaps my biggest pet peeve of late is book jackets. Yes, those secondary paper book covers, oftentimes with the exact likeness that is printed on the hardback book itself. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been reading a book in the bathtub and had the book jacket fall into the water (I know, I know, I should take them off before I even climb in).

And when it comes to children’s books, you can forget about the book jacket staying on while you’re reading. That hasn’t been a problem for us lately, however, as our 2-year-old son has made a hobby out of pulling the covers off books, whether we’re reading them or not. Earlier in the week, our bedroom and our daughter’s were littered with about a dozen book jackets, some from books we hadn’t read in months.

Honestly, I don’t even know the purpose of a book jacket. To protect the book from dust? Everything in my house is dusty – the books are the least of my concern.

So – with most sincere apologies to the wonderful men and women who make a career out of creating book jackets – I have started throwing ours away. If a jacket falls off, it goes in the trash.

My bedroom floor is already much cleaner.

Responses

  1. Save them for Katie, she is going to decorate her classroom with them .


Leave a Reply

Categories

