Posted by: Jamie Stamm | February 14, 2008

Lucky No. 7

mms.jpg

When I signed up to bring M&Ms for my kids’ Valentine’s Day parties at school, I felt like I was taking the easy way out.

Normally, I’m the kind of mom who likes to bake cookies or cupcakes for special occasions, but last week was a stressful one for me, so I looked for an item that was on the sign-up sheets for both Cera and Anthony’s classes and penned in their names. I’d just grab two bags of M&Ms on my weekend grocery trip, and we’d be good to go.

Except that when I went shopping on Saturday, the store was sold out of Milk Chocolate M&Ms. There were several bags of Peanut M&Ms, but I’m always leery of buying those for kids because of allergies, plus they strike me as a choking hazard.

It wasn’t a problem, though. I was sure I’d find some by the time Thursday rolled around.

But by 7 p.m tonight, after hitting two more grocery stores, two drug stores and a discount store, I still hadn’t found a single bag of M&Ms – at least not the right ones. Again, I came across plenty of the peanut variety, along with Dark Chocolate M&Ms (I admit I almost bought a bag of those for myself) and green M&Ms that were labeled “Green – the new color of Valentine’s Day.”

Sorry, I am a holiday purist. Only Cupid’s Mix, with red, pink and white M&Ms, would do for my little Valentines.

I approached store No. 7 – another grocery store – with a new determination. That’s because I knew that my next option was Wal-Mart, and although I have no problem with Wal-Mart on a regular basis, I avoid it like the plague the night before or day of a holiday. So I went in ready to fight for a bag of M&Ms if I had to.

With three shelves of Valentine’s candy before me, I began scanning for that bright red Cupid’s Mix bag.

I didn’t see a single one.

So I started checking all the empty spaces where candy used to be. And there, in the space labeled “Milk Chocolate M&Ms,” was nothing but air.

I started to feel a bit panicked. I really didn’t want to go to Wal-Mart.

OK, I asked myself, what are my other options. Hershey’s Kisses? They’re made of milk chocolate, too. So are miniature Hershey’s bars. Or how about Dove nuggets?

And then, sitting atop the Peanut M&Ms, I saw them. Two – and only two – bags of Cupid’s Mix. I snatched them up like a mad woman and made my way to the checkout line.

I know the teachers at day care wouldn’t have cared if I had shown up tomorrow without M&Ms – and the kids, with everything else there will be to snack on – surely wouldn’t have noticed. But I’m Cera and Anthony’s mom – and I would have known. And it would have made my Valentine’s Day a little less sweet.

One thing I know for sure: Next year, I’m not taking the “easy way out.” Sign me up now for two dozen cupcakes.

Responses

  1. aahh – Super Mom to the rescue – using her super powers to seek out truth, justice, and the last bags of M&Ms to save the day!!

    BTW – great pic of the M&Ms crew – I love those little guys! They are smile generators, for sure!!!

  2. I thought you would appreciate this…I signed up for cupcakes for Leah’s class. I used a small cookie cutter as a “mold” on top of the icing and sprinkled colored sprinkles inside the heart so that when I removed the cookie cutter, there was a cute sprinkle heart. As I pulled away from the stop sign at Summitt to get on Horner every single cupcake flipped over. Every one. AND they were in a special cupcake holder. Okay, so they are 2 and they don’t care (although i was able to salvage most of them), but I could have slapped some icing on there and gone to bed!

    Loved your post!!

  3. Oh, the dreaded cupcake flip – I’ve experienced that one, too.

    Hope everyone has a Happy Valentine’s Day!

  4. What a great mom you are!!

    Emily–I totally feel your pain. I was cringing reading about the flip!

  5. The other night I was tasked with a similar quest – to find a bag of Cupid M&Ms. I stopped at the Food Lion at Tramway and found none, so I went to Lowes foods. Nothing. Finally, I found them at CVS, though they were the individually wrapped version (several small packages of about 8-10 M&Ms.)

    What gives? Are they really that valuable?


Leave a Reply

Categories

